When the GLPI community release is enough and when a GLPI Network plan is needed
A self-hosted service desk can run on the free GLPI community release if its work is ITIL tickets, problems and changes, asset management and native inventory, and if its team can handle problems through its own staff and community channels. The release is distributed under GPL-3.0-or-later, so the license is not the deciding factor. The subscription question arises only when the team needs something the release does not provide: level 3 vendor support, plugins available only to subscribers, or a larger staff, asset or instance count. Settle that question before go-live, because a community deployment relies on community support for escalations.
Choose the community release when your users sign in through the internal database, LDAP or REMOTE_USER, when you do not need the OAuth SSO or SCIM plugins, and when one production and one test instance cover your needs. Inventory can come from the GLPI Agent, which has been native since GLPI 10, with network discovery added through the separate GLPI Inventory plugin. Budget your own staff time for upgrades: back up the database, the files and the config directory including glpi.key and glpicrypt.key, then run php bin/console db:update. Plugins are suspended after a new version is detected and must be reactivated after major updates.
Choose a GLPI Network plan when you need vendor-backed escalation or plugins that the subscriptions page assigns to specific tiers, such as OAuth SSO, SCIM or GLPI AI. Self-hosted plans are priced per month excluding VAT: Basic at 100 euros for up to 10 technical staff or 500 assets, Standard at 300 euros for up to 50 staff or 5,000 assets, Advanced at 1,000 euros for more than 50 staff, and Enterprise at 4,500 euros with unlimited assets and instances. Every self-hosted plan includes unlimited level 3 support, so the Enterprise tier mainly matters for exclusive plugins, priority support and an enterprise instance count. Ask Teclib to confirm how staff and agents are counted and which tier includes each plugin you need.
Which GLPI capabilities are free and which need a Network subscription
This table compares what the community release gives a self-hosted service desk with what each GLPI Network self-hosted tier adds in support, plugins, instance counts and agent or asset caps. Read the rows as a checklist: core ITIL and asset functions sit in GLPI itself, while level 3 support, Network-only plugins and higher limits depend on the tier you buy.
| Capability | Community edition (free) | GLPI Network self-hosted |
|---|---|---|
| Core ITIL tickets, problems, changes and asset management | True | True |
| Native inventory through the GLPI Agent | True | True |
| Level 3 support from Teclib' | False | Unlimited level 3 support on every self-hosted plan |
| Support model | Community support | Level 3 support included in each tier |
| GLPI Network-only plugins | False | Access depends on tier, including OAuth SSO, SCIM and GLPI AI |
| Instances of each type (production and test) | Not capped by subscription | Basic: one each. Standard: two each. Advanced: four each. Enterprise: unlimited |
| Staff or asset caps | No subscription cap | Basic: up to 10 staff or 500 assets. Standard: up to 50 staff or 5,000 assets. Advanced: more than 50 staff |
| Agent support for Windows, Linux, macOS and Android | Confirm agent coverage with Teclib' for your setup | Supported for subscriptions with 25 or more agents |
| Extended support for the previous major version and crisis response team | False | Enterprise tier only |
Which GLPI Network tier fits which team size and instance layout
Basic suits a small IT team running a single-site service desk with one production instance and one test instance. At 100 euros per month excluding VAT, it is the entry self-hosted plan. The subscriptions page sets its ceiling at up to 10 technical staff on the standard interface or 500 assets, so the first limit you reach will decide whether this tier still fits.
- Staff or asset threshold: up to 10 technical staff on the standard interface or 500 assets.
- Instance count: one production instance and one test instance.
- Beyond unlimited level 3 support: the plugin set the subscriptions page assigns to this tier, which you should confirm plugin by plugin.
- Cost driver: the monthly fee is fixed by tier, and exceeding either limit moves you up to the next plan.
- Good fit: a small technician group that needs one staging copy for upgrades and no second production instance.
Before you sign, compare your current technician count and asset total against both limits, and ask Teclib' in writing which plugins this tier includes.
Standard is for a mid-sized internal IT team that needs more headroom than Basic but does not yet need the largest plans. At 300 euros per month excluding VAT, it raises the staff ceiling to 50 and the asset ceiling to 5,000, and it allows two production and two test instances. It is the tier to consider when a team outgrows Basic on one dimension, such as assets from a discovery project, while keeping technician headcount modest.
- Staff or asset threshold: up to 50 technical staff or 5,000 assets.
- Instance count: two production instances and two test instances.
- Beyond unlimited level 3 support: a plugin set that the subscriptions page assigns to this tier, which differs from the Basic and Enterprise lists and should be confirmed.
- Cost driver: the fee rises from 100 to 300 euros per month, so a team that stays under Basic limits pays less.
- Good fit: a regional IT group that runs a production instance for one business unit and a second for a separate site or pilot.
If your staff count fits Standard but your asset count is far above 5,000, ask Teclib' which limit governs the subscription and what happens when one is exceeded.
Advanced is aimed at organizations with more than 50 technical staff. At 1,000 euros per month excluding VAT, it provides four production and four test instances. The supplied tier information does not state an asset ceiling for Advanced, so the asset limit is the detail to verify before you commit to this plan.
- Staff threshold: more than 50 technical staff.
- Instance count: four production instances and four test instances.
- Asset threshold: not stated in the supplied tier information, so confirm it with Teclib'.
- Beyond unlimited level 3 support: the plugin set listed for Advanced on the subscriptions page, which sits between Standard and Enterprise and should be checked plugin by plugin.
- Good fit: a large service desk with several business units, each needing its own production and test environments.
Ask for the asset limit, the plugin list and the support terms in writing, and confirm whether a multi-entity or multi-site setup counts as one instance or several.
Enterprise is the top self-hosted tier at 4,500 euros per month excluding VAT. It removes the staff, asset and instance caps, so the question shifts from fitting a limit to justifying the extra services. The subscriptions page lists unlimited assets and instances, all exclusive GLPI Network plugins, priority level 3 support, extended support for the previous major version, a crisis response team and three places on official GLPI training courses.
- Staff or asset threshold: none stated for assets. Unlimited assets and instances apply.
- Instance count: unlimited production and test instances.
- Beyond unlimited level 3 support: all exclusive GLPI Network plugins, priority level 3 support, extended support for the previous major version, a crisis response team and three training places.
- Cost driver: the fee is the highest of any tier, so it is usually justified by asset scale, multiple instances or a need for the crisis response team.
- Good fit: a large or regulated organization that must keep the previous major version supported during upgrades.
Check the full tier comparison on the GLPI Network subscriptions page and confirm with Teclib' whether the training places and extended support window fit your upgrade calendar.
How licensing, support and updates differ between the two editions
The community release and the Network subscription run the same GLPI code under GPL-3.0-or-later, so the difference lies in who answers when something breaks and which plugins you may use. Update discipline applies to both editions, and it is where most self-hosted GLPI outages start.
GPL-3.0-or-later community release
The community edition is distributed under the GNU General Public License version 3 or later, and you may install, modify and run it without a license fee. The license covers the software, not the vendor's support obligations. Confirm with Teclib' which release line each edition covers before you plan an upgrade, because GLPI 12.0.0 is the current major release and older lines are maintained on their own schedule.
Community support and plugins
Without a subscription, your support comes from community channels and community plugins. Those plugins are maintained by different authors, so each one needs its own check against the GLPI version you run. Ask who fixes a broken community plugin after a major update, and plan a test instance to catch breakage first.
Network subscription and level 3 support
A self-hosted GLPI Network plan adds unlimited level 3 support from Teclib' and access to Network-only plugins, with the plugin list varying by tier. The agent and asset limits set which plan you need, so count agents and assets before you choose. Ask in writing what response targets apply, since the subscriptions page does not state them in the facts supplied here.
Back up keys before every update
The update procedure requires a backup of the database, the files and the config directory, including glpi.key and glpicrypt.key. Losing those keys can make stored encrypted data unreadable after a restore. Apply this rule to both editions, and test a restore on a separate host before you rely on the backup.
Reactivate plugins after major updates
Since GLPI 11.0, plugins are suspended when a new version is detected and must be reactivated after major updates. Teams on either edition should schedule a plugin review in the change window, check each plugin for compatibility, and then run php bin/console db:update as the documented step. Skipping this review is a common reason a ticket queue stops routing after an upgrade.
What the subscription costs and what drives the total
The self-hosted GLPI Network plans are published at 100 euros per month (Basic), 300 euros (Standard), 1,000 euros (Advanced) and 4,500 euros (Enterprise), all excluding VAT, according to Teclib's GLPI Network subscriptions page. These are the only subscription figures to quote. The subscription is a recurring monthly fee paid to Teclib', and it buys level 3 support, GLPI Network plugins and the instance and agent allowances of the chosen tier. Treat the tier as a function of your agent count, asset count and number of instances, since the Basic plan caps at 10 technical staff on the standard interface or 500 assets, and Standard at 50 staff or 5,000 assets. Ask Teclib' to confirm in writing which metric applies to your environment, and whether a test instance counts toward the allowance.
The subscription does not cover everything. Your internal team, or the partner you hire, still carries the work that the free release also requires: running the upgrade procedure, backing up the database, files and the config directory including glpi.key and glpicrypt.key, and running php bin/console db:update. Since GLPI 11.0, plugins are suspended after a new version is detected and must be reactivated after major updates, so every major upgrade has a labor step that scales with the number of plugins you use. Hosting, the web server, PHP, MariaDB or MySQL, backup storage and monitoring also remain your costs under every tier. These recurring costs are usually larger in staff time than in infrastructure, and they are the same whether or not you subscribe.
Before requesting a quote, ask for the following in writing: the tier and the metric used to qualify it (staff, agents or assets), the number of production and test instances included, whether GLPI Network plugins you need are included at your tier, the level 3 support terms, and the billing cycle and VAT treatment. If you are weighing the self-hosted plan against GLPI Network Cloud, request both quotes on the same scope, since public cloud is priced at 19 euros per user per month and private cloud at 21 euros per user per month with a 25-user minimum, per the same subscriptions page. Also ask whether an implementation partner's scope, such as upgrade support or plugin reactivation testing, is quoted separately from the subscription. A fixed-scope quote from DeployOpen follows from that written scope, and it is priced separately from Teclib's subscription.
Moving from the community release to a GLPI Network plan, and back
This sequence shows how a team confirms its tier limits, buys the right subscription, and keeps GLPI updated and recoverable, along with the reverse path if the subscription is dropped. Each step ends with a check you can verify before moving on.
Count staff, assets and agents against tier limits
The GLPI administrator, with input from the asset and service desk leads, counts the technical staff who use the standard interface, the active assets in inventory, and the agents reporting to the instance. Compare these figures with the Basic, Standard and Advanced limits on Teclib's subscriptions page, which cap staff at 10, 50 and above 50 respectively, and assets at 500 and 5,000 for the first two tiers. Record the instance count you need for production and test. Done when the team has a written sheet showing which tier fits and which limit is closest to being exceeded.
Obtain a subscription that matches the counts
The IT manager or procurement lead requests a self-hosted GLPI Network quote from Teclib' based on the sheet from the previous step, and confirms whether the figures exclude VAT. Ask Teclib' to state in writing the plan, the number of production and test instances included, the level 3 support scope, and the renewal terms. Done when a signed order or invoice names the plan and the instance counts, and the team has a support contact recorded.
Verify plugin access for plugins in use
The GLPI administrator lists every plugin currently installed, including any inventory, approval or authentication plugins, and checks each one against the plugin access table for the chosen tier on Teclib's subscriptions page. Plugins not covered by the tier or the community catalog need a decision before go-live. Confirm with Teclib' whether an exclusive plugin is included on the purchased plan. Done when each plugin is marked as covered, community-only or removed, with the owner named.
Plan the production and test instance layout
The platform owner decides how production and test instances will be hosted, which database engine will be used (MySQL or MariaDB, as the GLPI installation docs require), and which web server will expose the public directory with URL rewriting. Confirm the PHP version against the current GLPI prerequisites, since the README and installation docs state different minimums depending on the release line. Done when a diagram or runbook shows both instances, their databases, and the separation of test from production data.
Back up before the first update
Before any version change, the administrator backs up the database, the GLPI files, and the config directory, including glpi.key and glpicrypt.key, as the update procedure requires. Store the backup outside the host being upgraded and test a restore on the test instance. Done when a restore of the backup to the test instance completes and the team can log in with a known account.
Schedule the first update and reactivate plugins
The administrator updates the test instance first by replacing the application files and running php bin/console db:update. Because plugins are suspended after a new version is detected, the team reactivates each plugin on the test instance, checks that it works and that it is still covered by the subscription, then repeats the steps on production in a planned window. Done when production reports the target version, all required plugins are active, and the service desk completes a test ticket and inventory sync.
Reverse the path when dropping the subscription
If the team cancels the subscription, the administrator first confirms which features and plugins depend on it, including level 3 support, extended support for the previous major version, and marketplace plugins. Replace any dropped plugin with a community alternative or accept its removal, then plan reliance on community support and community plugins for issues and upgrades. Confirm the instance count and data are unchanged. Done when a written list of lost features, replacement plugins and the internal owner for escalations is approved by the CIO.
Rehearse the downgrade on a copy
Before the subscription lapses, the team runs the reduced configuration on a copy of production, checks that community plugins behave as expected, and measures whether staff and asset counts still fit within the free release's own practical limits. Verify that the backup and update procedure still works without vendor support. Done when the copy runs the planned workload and the team can state who will handle incidents once level 3 support ends.
Questions buyers ask before choosing a GLPI edition or hiring help
Can the GLPI community release run a full service desk on its own?
Yes, for many internal IT desks, provided you accept community support and community plugins. The community release covers ITIL tickets, problems and changes, plus asset management, and it gets hardware and software inventory through the GLPI Agent. What the free release does not include is level 3 support from Teclib' and the GLPI Network plugins, which the subscriptions page ties to paid tiers. Check your plugin list before you commit. If your process depends on OAuth SSO, SCIM provisioning, approval by mail or the advanced dashboard, confirm whether that plugin requires a subscription. Network discovery and SNMP inventory also need the separate GLPI Inventory plugin, so test that path during scoping.
How much does a GLPI Network subscription cost for self-hosted GLPI?
The GLPI Network subscriptions page lists self-hosted plans at 100 euros per month for Basic, 300 euros for Standard, 1,000 euros for Advanced and 4,500 euros for Enterprise, all excluding VAT. Basic covers up to 10 technical staff on the standard interface or 500 assets, with one production and one test instance. Standard covers up to 50 staff or 5,000 assets, with two of each instance. Advanced covers more than 50 staff, with four of each instance. The tier follows whichever cap your environment exceeds first, so count staff, assets and instances before you request a quote. Confirm with Teclib' how these figures apply to your currency, term and purchasing route.
What must our internal team run to operate GLPI under either edition?
Plan for the same platform work under either edition: someone must run the PHP and database stack, the web server and every upgrade. The README lists PHP 8.3 or later with MariaDB 10.11 or later or MySQL 8.0 or later, while the installation docs list PHP 8.2 or later with MySQL 8.0 or MariaDB 10.6 for GLPI 11.0, so confirm which set applies to your target version. The web server document root must point to the public directory, with URL rewriting in place. Each update requires backing up the database, the files and the config directory, including glpi.key and glpicrypt.key, replacing the application files and running php bin/console db:update. Since GLPI 11.0, plugins are suspended when a new version is detected and must be reactivated after major updates.
How long does a GLPI migration or upgrade take, and what drives it?
The supplied material gives no duration for GLPI migrations or upgrades, so ask for a timeline built from your own scope rather than a generic one. The main drivers are the version gap you are crossing, since GLPI 11.0.11 was published on October 1, 2026 and GLPI 12.0.0 on October 7, 2026, and the release notes for 12.0.0 include a rewritten knowledge base that may need content review. Other drivers are the number and type of plugins, especially any that must be reactivated after a major update, the volume of tickets, assets and attachments, custom fields and workflows to rebuild, inventory agents that must be repointed, and the testing window your business requires. Ask for effort estimates per driver, measured on an instance similar to yours.
Can DeployOpen run our GLPI platform for us?
DeployOpen plans, implements, customizes, integrates, hardens, backs up, upgrades, documents and supports self-hosted open-source platforms inside your own infrastructure, including cloud accounts, data centers and air-gapped networks. Most engagements are fixed-scope, with scope, deliverables and timelines agreed in writing before work starts. Ongoing support, upgrades and continuous testing are available as retainers. DeployOpen does not publish a price list, so a quote follows from the written scope. DeployOpen is not an official partner or reseller of Teclib', so confirm with Teclib' how a GLPI Network subscription is purchased and who delivers level 3 support. Ask for the split of responsibilities in writing before you sign.
When is the GLPI Enterprise plan worth 4,500 euros a month?
Enterprise is worth pricing when you need what only that tier includes: unlimited assets and instances, all exclusive GLPI Network plugins, priority level 3 support, extended support for the previous major version, a crisis response team and three places on official GLPI training courses. Per the subscriptions page, Enterprise costs 4,500 euros per month excluding VAT, compared with 1,000 euros for Advanced, which covers more than 50 staff with four of each instance. Enterprise tends to fit when you need more than four instances of a type, unlimited assets, many staging environments, or a crisis response team because an outage would be costly. If none of those conditions apply, compare Advanced with what it would cost your team to cover plugins, extended version support and incident response yourselves.
Which GLPI plugins need a Network subscription, and does that affect single sign-on?
The subscriptions page lists plugin access by tier and names OAuth IMAP, Data Injection, OAuth SSO, SCIM, GLPI AI, Advanced Dashboard and approval by mail among the plugins in the GLPI Network set. Check each one against your tier before you design around it, because a dependency on OAuth SSO or SCIM shapes your identity architecture and provisioning model. The user documentation says GLPI tries authentication against the internal database, then LDAP directories, then IMAP mail servers, then other external methods such as REMOTE_USER, in that order. Confirm in a test instance which of these paths your login flow needs and whether any of them depend on a Network plugin. Ask Teclib' to map each plugin you need to the tier that includes it.
How DeployOpen scopes GLPI work for either edition
DeployOpen plans, implements, hardens, backs up and documents self-hosted GLPI inside your own infrastructure, whether that is your cloud accounts, data centers or an air-gapped network. The work that applies to both editions is the same in kind: installing GLPI on a supported PHP and database stack, configuring the web server so its document root points to the public directory, setting up authentication against your directories, protecting the glpi.key and glpicrypt.key files, and running the update procedure with a verified backup of the database, files and config directory. Most engagements are fixed-scope, so the systems, deliverables, documentation and timelines are agreed in writing before work starts. That written scope is also where you decide whether plugin setup, inventory agent rollout or training are included.
DeployOpen is not a Teclib' partner or reseller, and it does not sell GLPI Network subscriptions. The choice of tier, the number of agents, assets and instances you need, and the level 3 support terms that come with a plan must be confirmed with Teclib' directly, because the subscription terms and plugin access sit with the vendor. Before you scope a community build, ask Teclib' which plugins your team needs and whether they are included in a subscription. Before you scope a subscription build, ask for the written support terms and the exact instance and asset limits that apply to your deployment. DeployOpen can then build and document either option to that written scope, but it cannot promise what Teclib' will provide under its own agreement.

